Exhaust recirc port & Walbro positioning

Canalbreath created the topic: Exhaust recirc port & Walbro positioning

Hi there ! Newbie here, I have a Prather Funcruiser with I believe a 25 homelite that Im trying to get going. There is a pinhole (Which I think is an exhaust recirculation port) just above my header flange . Currently the motor is not starting and when Im pulling the cord Im getting fuel shooting from this port above the exhaust. Would this cause a problem with compression ? Should this hole be filled or plugged ? and if so any advice on doing that.
Also whats the deal with with the Walbro carbs? I see some with the primer on top and pump side down as well as the opposite, bulb down and pump up. will these run in either position ?
I have searched thru all the great threads on the forums I believe would contain this info but haven't seen anything about either of those.

Thank you in advance for any input,

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

marc replied the topic: Exhaust recirc port & Walbro positioning

Hi,

Welcome to MGB. It would be good to see a picture or two of the port you are talking about on the header, but I'm guessing that's a water inlet. Many of those style boats have water cooled (by injection) headers. The boat will start without that water injection, so thats not your issue but you should get it plumbed correctly if indeed that is what Im thinking. As for the Walbro carbs, they work fine in just about any orientation. If you are seeing gas come out of port on header, sounds like flooded engine to me. More specs and pics on what you have would help us help you more. Carb model, engine model, pipe/header combo...ect.

Modelgasboats.com - Home of the WARPATH Riggers!

Follow Modelgasboats.com on FACEBOOK - CLICK HERE
"
The following user(s) said Thank You: Canalbreath

Canalbreath replied the topic: Exhaust recirc port & Walbro positioning