Stinger Drive versus Strut Support set up?

Craig Dickson created the topic: Stinger Drive versus Strut Support set up?

Hi folks

My 47” Lynx Mono is fitted out with the traditional strut support. Am I right to think that this hull could be fitted with a stinger drive system (please bear in mind that I have no experience of using stinger drives)?

If so, are there any technical advantages or disadvantages with the stinger drive system (compared to what I have got)?

These two images hopefully show my set up. The stuffing tube runs parallel to the bottom of the hull towards the transom. Where it exits the transom the stuffing tube slides snugly into the housing of the CNC support bracket.

My concern with my existing set up is the limitation in the available angle of adjustment of the strut support. If I attempt to angle it down it is very limited by the end of the stuffing tube housed within the support. I am also concerned about having a relatively sharp bend in the flexi shaft (near the joint between the stuffing tube and strut support) even if the angle is altered by just a few degrees. Unless of course I was to remove the stuffing tube and attempt to put a gentle bend in it to suit the new angle, a job that would need some surgery. Current set up is with slight negative angle and strut as low as possible.

Does the stinger system allow for more adjustment or does the stuffing tube limit it in a similar way?

The main reason for my topic is that as I have increased the speed of my hull it now needs taming for stability in straight lines (purpoising and torque roll). Although I am going to try trim tabs, I feel that the best answer may sit within the drive set up.

Your comments and opinions will be much appreciated.

Cheers
Craig

Attachments:

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

Scott replied the topic: Re: Stinger Drive versus Strut Support set up?